top of page


NRL South Australia (abbreviated as NRLSA, formerly the South Australian Rugby League) is a not-for-profit organisation responsible for administering the game of rugby league in the state of South Australia. It was formed on 28 July 1976 and is an affiliated state of the Australian Rugby League Commission.



In the 1940s the Port Adelaide rugby union club split itself into four rugby league clubs, which formed the basis of the first organised rugby league competition in the state, run under the banner of the Amateur South Australian Rugby League. The first South Australian representative team was formed in the early 1950s and travelled to play the South Sydney Rabbitohs in SydneyNSW where they lost 45–10.

The first iteration of the South Australian Rugby League was created in the 1950s when Australian soldiers formed a small four team competition based out of the Woomera Test Range. This body ceased to exist when the soldiers were transferred to the Northern Territory.

The current SARL was incorporated on 28 July 1976 and originally featured teams from Northern Districts, South Adelaide, Port Adelaide, Glenelg, Norwood and West Lakes.

Today the competition features five senior clubs and six Junior clubs, competitions are run from Under 6,s through to First Grade.



Adelaide Metropolitan based clubs:

  • Central Districts Roosters

  • Western Warriors

  • South Adelaide Bulldogs

  • Eastern Eels

  • Adelaide Hills Tigers

  • M.E.C Swans

Regional Leagues - Limestone Coast Rugby League:

This unique competition works in collaboration with Country Victoria:

  • Naracoorte Jets

  • Blue Lake Knights

  • Warrnambool Raiders 

  • Gunditmara Bulls 

  • Stawell Mounties 

bottom of page